Far Northern Recap


aucilla 2 565

Evening Glow 18 x 24

Last week was my trip to the far north.  Well, not the far north, but Washington DC  is a far piece.  As you may know, I participated in a two art festivals on two consecutive weekends in Greenville, S.C. and Reston, VA.  In between I stayed in a beautiful house on the top of a mountain in Maggie Valley, N.C..  Life is tough.  Yeah . . . right.  Here’s a summary in bullet form of how it went and what I learned:

  • Greenville, South Carolina is a nice town with an incredible downtown area that has been rebuilt with a fantastic park built around a beautiful waterfall.  Yeah Greenville.  I was impressed.
  • I got my first real taste of bad weather during an art festival.  Greenville Saturday was overcast with impending clouds almost all day long until about 4:00 when the sky opened up and the front moved through.  It only rained about 20 minutes and then it was pretty good after that.  It really wasn’t that bad, but that’s the only excuse I have for why Greenville was my least productive show of the year.  I did sell two smaller paintings, and I did cover my costs.  So that’s not so bad.  It was probably karma catching up with me for getting to stay on a mountain top.
  • Maggie Valley is a beautiful place.  Enough said.  I feel like I’m bragging.
  • When driving down a very steep road from the top of a mountain it is wise to use the lower gears of your car to slow your descent rather than you brakes.
  • The Shenandoah Valley of Virginia is beautiful even in a rainstorm while sharing an interstate highway with many many large semi tractor trailers.  I am embarrassed to write that I have never been there that I can remember.  [I think I did go through there one night on the way to snow skiing in West Virginia.]  But really. . . I’m a landscape painter who likes rural scenes with barns and I never painted that place.  Come on man!
  • I should plan a working trip to the Shenandoah Valley.  (See above)
  • Reston, Virginia is a neat place with a lot of activity and the appearance of a lot of wealth.  Big buildings with names of big corporations.  Fancy dogs (you don’t bring a mutt to downtown Reston.  Purebred only please.)  Fancy restaurant with fancy food.  The wait in the Starbucks line was forty people deep.  Forty people I’m not exaggerating.
  • Art Festival artists are just trying to make a living.
  • I had to go all the way to Reston, Virginia to meet a very talented artist who lives in Tallahassee.  Debo Groover is a mixed media artist who does funky, colorful, well-designed work that I thought was great.  She was two booths down from me and when I walked in her booth and saw the sign saying she was from Tallahassee I just smiled.  I got to get out more.  Here’s her website:  Debortina.com.  Check her out.  She killed in Reston, and it was well deserved.
  • The trip home from Northern Virginia was long.  L          O          N           G.
  • People actually read my blog.  That was really amazing to discover.  I should write more.  I will.
  • If I’m going to do seven shows in a season I need more inventory.  THAT IS A GREAT THING TO WRITE.
  • The painting above was taken off the wall in Winter Park.  It’s in a happy place now.
  • The life of a vagabond artist is not so bad.

Thanks for looking.

One thought on “Far Northern Recap

  1. delancydina says:

    I love reading your posts!
    Your art is amazing!
    Can’t wait to sit on your deck at the Lake!

Leave a Reply

